Mann Cup History

It was donated in 1910 by Sir Donald Mann; prior to then, the Minto Cup was the senior amateur championship trophy. The Mann Cup was originally a challenge trophy, but in 1925 the Mann Cupchampion New Westminster Salmonbellies turned the trophy over to the Canadian Lacrosse Association who instituted a national playoff system. The challenges and championships for the Mann Cup were played by the rules of traditional field lacrosse until 1932, when box lacrosse was adopted by the Canadian Lacrosse Association. The first indoor Mann Cup was played at Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto in October 1932.

There have actually been three Mann Cup trophies in existence – the original and two replicas. The original 1910 trophy was in use from 1910 until 1985, when it was retired permanently to the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame. A replica trophy, which has a larger and taller base than the original 1910 trophy, was in use and awarded to teams from 1986 until 2004 when it was destroyed in a bonfire mishap in Peterborough. The second replica replaced the first replica in 2005, and its appearance mirrors the previous 1986 replica trophy and not the original 1910 trophy.

Mann Cup Champions

YearSeriesChampionsFinalists Most Valuable Player
2023 Six Nations Chiefs New Westminster   Salmonbellies Cody Jamieson
2022 Peterborough Lakers   Langley ThunderCurtis Dickson
2021 No competition (Covid)  
2020 No competition (Covid)  
2019 Peterborough Lakers   Victoria ShamrocksMike Poulin
2018 Peterborough Lakers   Maple Ridge BurrardsShawn Evans
2017 Peterborough Lakers   New Westminster   Salmonbellies Shawn Evans
20164-1Six Nations Chiefs Maple Ridge BurrardsDan Dawson 
20154-2Victoria Shamrocks Peterborough Lakers  Corey Small 
2014 Six Nations ChiefsVictoria Shamrocks Brandon Miller
2013 Six Nations ChiefsVictoria Shamrocks Cody Jamieson
2012 Peterborough LakersLangley Thunder Mike Thompson
2011 Brampton ExcelsiorsLangley Thunder Anthony Cosmo
2010 Peterborough LakersNew Westminster Salmonbellies Shawn Evans
2009 Brampton ExcelsiorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Shawn Williams
2008 Brampton ExcelsiorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Anthony Cosmo
2007 Peterborough LakersCoquitlam Adanacs John Grant Jr.
2006 Peterborough LakersVictoria Shamrocks Dan Carey
2005 Victoria ShamrocksPeterborough Lakers Anthony Cosmo
2004 Peterborough LakersVictoria Shamrocks John Grant Jr.
2003 Victoria ShamrocksBrampton Excelsiors Andy Turner
2002 Brampton ExcelsiorsVictoria Shamrocks Josh Sanderson
2001 Coquitlam AdanacsBrampton Excelsiors Andy Ogilvie
2000 Brooklin RedmenVictoria Shamrocks Nick Trudeau
1999 Victoria ShamrocksBrampton Excelsiors Paul Gait and Gary Gait
1998 Brampton ExcelsiorsCoquitlam Adanacs Pat O’Toole
1997 Victoria ShamrocksNiagara Falls Gamblers Gary Gait
1996 Six Nations ChiefsVictoria Shamrocks John Tavares
1995 Six Nations ChiefsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Paul Gait
1994 Six Nations ChiefsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Darris Kilgour
1993 Brampton ExcelsiorsCoquitlam Adanacs John Tavares
1992 Brampton ExcelsiorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies John Tavares
1991 New Westminster SalmonbelliesBrooklin Redmen Geordie Dean
1990 Brooklin RedmenVancouver Burrards Paul Gait 
1989 New Westminster SalmonbelliesBrooklin Redmen Ben Hieltjes
1988 Brooklin RedmenCoquitlam Adanacs Bill Thomas
1987 Brooklin RedmenNew Westminster Salmonbellies Eric Cowieson
1986 New Westminster SalmonbelliesBrooklin Redmen Geordie Dean
1985 Brooklin RedmenNew Westminster Salmonbellies Wayne Colley
1984 Peterborough LakersVictoria Pay Less John Grant
1983 Victoria PaylessPeterborough Lakers John Crowther
1982 Peterborough LakersNew Westminster Salmonbellies Jim Wasson
1981 New Westminster SalmonbelliesBrampton Excelsiors Wayne Goss
1980 Brampton ExcelsiorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Barry Maruk
1979 Victoria ShamrocksPeterborough Red Oaks Kevin Alexander
1978 Peterborough Red OaksVictoria Shamrocks Tim Barrie
1977 Vancouver BurrardsBrampton Excelsiors Doug Hayes and Mike Smith
1976 New Westminster SalmonbelliesBrampton Excelsiors Dave Durante
1975 Vancouver BurrardsBrampton Excelsiors Ron Pinder
1974 New Westminster SalmonbelliesWindsor Warlocks Ken Winzoski
1973 Peterborough LakersVancouver Burrards Pat Baker
1972 New Westminster SalmonbelliesBrantford Warriors Paul Parnell
1971 Brantford WarriorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Bob McCready
1970 New Westminster SalmonbelliesPeterborough Lakers Paul Parnell
1969 Brooklin RedmenNew Westminster BluesBill Squires
1968 Brooklin RedmenNanaimo Luckies John Raphael Cervi and Joe Timchishem
1967 Vancouver CarlingsBrooklin Redmen John Davis
1966 Peterborough LakersVancouver Carlings John Davis
1965 New Westminster O’KeefesBrooklin Merchants Les Norman
1964 Vancouver CarlingsBrooklin Hillcrests Bob Allen
1963 Vancouver CarlingsSt. Catharines Athletics Gordon Gimple
1962 New Westminster O’KeefesBrampton Ramblers Jack Bionda
1961 Vancouver BurrardsBrampton Ramblers Bill Barbour
1960 Port Credit SailorsNanaimo Labatt’s Dave Russell
1959 New Westminster O’KeefesPeterborough Mercuries Jack Bionda
1958 New Westminster SalmonbelliesWelland-Crowland Switsons Norm McKay
1957 Victoria ShamrocksLong Branch Pontiacs Jack Northrup
1956 Nanaimo TimbermenPeterborough Trailermen Derry Davies
1955 Victoria ShamrocksPeterborough Trailermen Geordie Johnson
1954 Peterborough TimbermenVictoria Shamrocks Lloyd “Moon” Wooton
1953 Peterborough TimbermenVictoria Shamrocks Ross Powless
1952 Peterborough TimbermenVancouver Burrards Lou Nickle
1951 Peterborough TimbermenVancouver Combines Lloyd “Moon” Wooton
1950 Owen Sound CrescentsNew Westminster Adanacs Lloyd “Moon” Wooton
1949 Vancouver BurrardsHamilton Tigers Don Matheson
1948 Hamilton TigersNew Westminster Adanacs Doug Favelle
1947 New Westminster AdanacsMimico Mountaineers Bob Lee
1946 St. Catharines AthleticsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Doug Favelle
1945 Vancouver BurrardsSt. Catharines Athletics Frank Lee
1944 St. Catharines AthleticsNew Westminster Salmonbellies Ike Hildebrand
1943 New Westminster SalmonbelliesMimico-Brampton Combines Bill Wilkes
1942 Mimico/Brampton CombinesNew Westminster Salmonbellies Bert Large
1941 St. Catharines AthleticsRichmond Farmers Blackie Black
1940 St. Catharines AthleticsVancouver Burrards  
1939 New Westminster AdanacsSt. Catharines Athletics  
1938 St. Catharines AthleticsNew Westminster Adanacs  
1937 New Westminster SalmonbelliesOrillia Terriers  
1936 Orillia TerriersNorth Shore Indians  
1935 Orillia TerriersRichmond Farmers  
1934 Orillia TerriersNew Westminster Salmonbellies  
1933 Hamilton TigersNew Westminster Salmonbellies  
1932 Mimico MountaineersWinnipeg Argos  
1931 Brampton ExcelsiorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies  
1930 Brampton ExcelsiorsNew Westminster Salmonbellies  
1929 Oshawa GeneralsNew Westminster Salmonbellies  
1928 Ottawa EmmetsWinnipeg Tigers  
1927 New Westminster SalmonbelliesWeston Westonmen  
1926 Weston WestonmenWinnipeg Tigers  
1925 New Westminster SalmonbelliesVancouver Indians  
1924 New Westminster Salmonbelliesno finalist  
1923 New Westminster SalmonbelliesVancouver Lacrosse Club  
1922 New Westminster SalmonbelliesVictoria Capitals  
1921 New Westminster Salmonbelliesno finalist  
1920 New Westminster SalmonbelliesVancouver Athletic Club  
1919 Vancouver Foundation ClubWinnipeg Argonauts  
1918 Vancouver CoughlansWinnipeg  
1917 New Westminster Salmonbelliesno competition due to WWI  
1916 New Westminster Salmonbelliesno competition due to WWI  
1915 New Westminster Salmonbelliesno finalist  
1914 Vancouver Athletic ClubCalgary Chinooks
Brampton Excelsiors 
1913 Vancouver Athletic ClubArmstrong
Oak Bay 
1912 Vancouver Athletic ClubWinnipeg Canadian Northern Railroad
St. Catharines Athletics 
1911 Vancouver Athletic ClubToronto Young Torontos  
1910 Toronto Young TorontosVancouver Athletic Club
Toronto Maitlands

Related Images: