OTTAWA, ON, December 14, 2012 – 2012 marks the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty’s accession of the throne. To celebrate, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal was created. The last time the Diamond Jubilee medals were presented was during Queen Victoria’s reign in 1867.

Diamond Jubilee Medal Largejubilee medal

Today, the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) is pleased to announce that fifty-five (55) members of the lacrosse community have joined a very exclusive club amongst Commonwealth countries as they are recipients of a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal. This commemorative medal is a tangible and lasting way to pay tribute to those Canadians whose achievements have benefited their fellow citizens, their community, their organization and the country. It provides an opportunity to look back and recognize those who have made lacrosse what it is today. These fifty-five individuals represent the backbone of Canadian lacrosse; they are the volunteers, the builders of our sport, administrators, coaches, and players. They give tirelessly to the sport they are so passionate about and as such the CLA is thrilled to have the opportunity to honour each of them.

Lacrosse recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal
Jim Burke, Calgary, AB
Tom Engel, Edmonton, AB
Chuck Miller, Guelph, ON
Sohen Gill, Burnaby BC
Stewart Begg, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Doug Luey, Oshawa, ON
Marisa Di Bari, Toronto, ON
John Doherty, Toronto, ON
Stan Cockerton, Oshawa, ON
Joey Harris, Winnipeg, MB
Angie Schwan, Delta, BC
Terry Rowland, Port Perry, ON
Dean McLeod, Brampton, ON
Ron McQuarrie, Victoria, BC
Brent McCauley, Brampton, ON
AJ Jomha, Edmonton, AB
Greg Toll, Maple Ridge, BC
Marion Ladouceur, ON
Steve O’Shaughnessy, Fredericton, NB
Shawn Williams, Prince Albert, SK
Dave Higdon, Saint John, NB
David H.C. Soul, Surrey, BC
Steven Brown, Lower Sackville, NS
Wayne Finck, Halifax, NS
Dave Arsenault, Saint John, NB
Bruce Logan, Saint John, NB
Damien Roy, Sherbrooke, QC
William Hutton, Ajax, ON
Bill Fox, ON
Dave Vernon, ON
Terry Lloyd, Oshawa ON
Jim Hinkson, Haliburton, ON
Bob Allan, Peterborough, ON
Jim Brady, St. Catharines, ON
Jim Price, Thornhill, ON
John Grant Sr., Peterborough, ON
Joanne Stanga, Markham, ON
Dieter W. Kirner, Oshawa, ON
Bruce Paton, Winnipeg, MB
Tom Parker, Winnipeg, MB
Glen Henkewich, Winnipeg, MB
John S. Herd, Birch Hills, SK
Randy Trobak, Saskatoon, SK
Alan Luciuk, Saskatoon, SK
Duane Bratt, Calgary, AB
Russ Sheppard, Edmonton, AB
David E.M. Jenkins, Prince George, BC
Douglas Wright, Richmond, BC
Deb Stocks, Nanaimo,BC
Terry Mosdell, Surrey, BC
Myrna Cable, Prince George, BC
Johnny Mouradian, Radnor PA
Paul Gait, Altamont NY
David Huntley, Towson, MD
Gary Gait, Fayetteville, New York


Queen ElizabethI II Jubilee certificate

The CLA wishes to congratulate all the recipients; their commitment to Canada’s national summer sport is strengthened when we collectively pay homage to those who distinguished themselves by virtue of their talents, their generosity, and their service to their community, sport and to our country. Lacrosse is better for the all the contributions and time you each have given throughout the years.

Related Images: