Dave Evans has made his mark in lacrosse as both a Builder and a Player, in both Box and Field disciplines, as well as the Men’s and the Women’s game. As a player he was made an all-star and won MVP awards in three seasons in the Junior “A” division, toiling for Burnaby Cablevision.

When he was a Senior he collected top goalie awards in the Western Lacrosse Association in 1973. He followed up this achievement with the top goalie award in 1975 in the National Lacrosse League. Evans was the WLA playoff MVP in 1973 and 1977, and a four-time Maitland Trophy winner (1973, 1977, 1980 and 1981). He had three All-Star ratings and a Mann Cup ring in 1977.

Evans also represented Canada at the 1974 World Field Lacrosse Championships. The Vancouver Burrards retired his jersey in 1996 and he was inducted into the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1995. As a coach, he had three Canadian Senior Women Box Lacrosse titles and was Head Coach of the BC provincial women’s field lacrosse rep team that captured seven Canadian titles. He was Assistant Coach of the 1982 World Field Lacrosse Championships Canadian National Women’s Field lacrosse team which won a bronze medal, and Head Coach of the team in 1989, which would finish fourth.

Evans was named 1987 WLA Coach of the Year for the Vancouver Burrards and was Head Coach of the NLL Philadelphia Wings, winning two league titles and being named the 1992 Coach of the Year. He coached in the NLL in 2007 with the Washington/Vancouver Stealth. Dave also served the Burrards as general manager between 1983 and 1986, winning the WLA Executive of the Year Award in 1985. In a truly well-rounded participant moment, the BCLA named him Referee-of-the-Year in 1973.


Related Images:

Series Navigation<< Dave White – Lacrosse Legends------------ Pierre Filion – Lacrosse Legends >>