Dave Arsenault – Lacrosse Legends

Dave Arsenault was introduced to lacrosse when he was 14 years old at the 1969 Canada Summer Games, which were held in Halifax. He would play for Dartmouth, Shearwater, and Sackville in Junior lacrosse. A Builder of the game, his legacy began at 17, when he was asked to coach and referee. After moving to New Brunswick, he went to play for the local Saint John Junior team, playing teams from Sackville, Caraquet, and Charlottetown. Eventually, a Maritime Junior Lacrosse League was formed.

The legendary Bill McBain became head coach of the New Brunswick Junior team in 1976 and took them to the Founder’s Cup in Windsor, Ont., later that year. Another memorable moment occurred when the 1977 Canada Summer Games were held in Newfoundland. The New Brunswick team traveled to the Rock a few weeks before the Games to help Team Newfoundland prepare for the competition. Arsenault would continue with his playing career when he played for the first New Brunswick Senior Team in 1978, traveling to the President’s Cup later that year.

Simultaneously, Arsenault and some fellow players were starting a Youth League in New Brunswick, incorporated three short years later. Dave Arsenault would become Head Coach of the 1985 Summer Games Team. In 1988, work commitments took him away from the game, but he was able to return in 2001 and worked with Bruce Logan on development.  Arsenault would become Head Coach of Team New Brunswick in 2003. He remained part of the Provincial Team Program for 15 years.

Arsenault was made Technical Director for the provincial governing body from 2012-2016. During this time, he helped P.E.I. grow the game and began working with New Brunswick Indigenous communities. He also helped with the development of school field lacrosse programs, and the Maritime Cup for U15 and U18 Boys Field Lacrosse Teams followed.

These efforts were recognized with his induction into the Saint John Sports Hall of Fame in 2017 for his work at the local and provincial levels.

Related Images:

Series Navigation<< Kerri Hardill – Lacrosse Legends------------ Dan Wilson – Lacrosse Legends >>