Situated south of Syracuse, in upstate New York, lies the present-day territory of the Onondaga Nation, where the indigenous people here maintain their sovereignty and operate outside of the general jurisdiction of New York State. The Onondaga are part of the Haudenosaunee, which is often referred to as the Iroquois Confederacy, or Six Nations. The other members include the Mohawk, Oneida, Cayuga, Seneca and Tuscarora. Together, they’re united by traditions, beliefs and cultural values. One such tradition is the ancient game of Lacrosse.




Related Images: